Past News

Lek-Heng Lim wins the Smale Prize 2017.

Lek-Heng Kim

The winner of the third Stephen Smale prize is Lek-Heng Lim, University of Chicago. The third Stephen Smale Prize was awarded at the Conference on the Foundations of Computational Mathematics (FoCM 2017) at Barcelona, between July 10th - 19th, 2017.

More information and prize rules can be found here.

Angela Kunoth

Angela Kunoth became Editor-in-Chief of the SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis (SINUM)

Agnes Szanto

Agnes Szanto has been elected chair of the SIAM activity group in Algebraic Geometry

Annalisa Buffa wins the ICIAM Collatz Prize 2015

Annalisa Buffa

The award will be made at the Opening Ceremony of the International Congress for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, ICIAM 2015, to be held 10–14 August 2015 in Beijing, People's Republic of China.

Click to visit the web site

Carlos Beltrán and Mark Braverman win the Smale Prize 2014

Montevideo, Uruguaye

Click to visit Smale Prize page

The Prize is awarded by the Society for the Foundations of Computational Mathematics to young researchers in recognition of major achievements in furthering the understanding of the connections between mathematics and computation, including the interfaces between pure and applied mathematics, numerical analysis and computer science.

The award will be made on December 13, 2014,
at the FoCM’14 conference.


Carlos Beltrán

Carlos Beltrán, University of Cantabria, is one of the two recipients of the Smale Prize 2014 for his brilliant contributions to fundamental problems in the foundations of computational mathematics. Beltrán’s work embodies original approaches that combine the use of complex geometric structure and analytic power to make important progress on problems which have been the focus of intense research efforts by others. An important part of his work has been devoted to polynomial system solving, producing with Luis M. Pardo a Las Vegas algorithm for Smale's 17th problem, and studying the underlying geometry with Mike Shub and others. His work on producing equidistributed points on the sphere defines the state of the art on Smale's 7th problem. With Anton Leykin he has provided tools to adapt numerical methods to supply proofs in algebraic geometry. In addition, his work with Oscar González and Ignacio Santamaría on interference alignment (solving a problem in information theory, open for more than 10 years) is also a milestone.


Mark Braverman

Mark Braverman, Princeton University, is one of the two recipients of the Smale Prize 2014 for his pioneering work on the foundations of computational mathematics. Braverman has made fundamental contributions to our understanding of computability and complexity questions involving both continuous and discrete systems. In particular, his joint work with Michael Yampolsky showed how to apply deep and modern techniques of complex analysis and dynamics to classify Julia sets according to their computability and complexity. Concerning discrete problems, in a series of papers Braverman and his collaborators have shown how to apply Shannon's information theory to settle central open questions in communication complexity, including proving lower bounds on the ability of linear programs to approximate NP complete problems. He also developed surprising techniques from harmonic analysis to finally prove the Linial-Nisan Conjecture, and disproved, with collaborators, an old conjecture of Krivine.

Call for nominations The Stephen Smale Prize

Staphen Smale

Click to visit Smale Prize page

Nominations should be sent before midnight of March 10, 2014 (GMT)
to FoCM secretary Antonella Zanna at:

Arieh Iserles wins the 2014 SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession

Arieh Iserles

The award will be made at the
2014 SIAM Annual Meeting.

Mathematics of Planet Earth 2013

Mathematics of Planet Earth 2013

More than a hundred scientific societies, universities, research institutes, and organizations all over the world have banded together to dedicate 2013 as a special year for the Mathematics of Planet Earth.

Our planet is the setting for dynamic processes of all sorts, including the geophysical processes in the mantle, the continents, and the oceans, the atmospheric processes that determine our weather and climates, the biological processes involving living species and their interactions, and the human processes of finance, agriculture, water, transportation, and energy. The challenges facing our planet and our civilization are multidisciplinary and multifaceted, and the mathematical sciences play a central role in the scientific effort to understand and to deal with these challenges.

Click to visit the site:

Arieh Iserles wins the 2012 David Crighton Medal

Arieh Iserles

The 2012 David Crighton Medal was awarded jointly to Professor Arieh Iserles, University of Cambridge and Dr Peter Neumann OBE, University of Oxford. It will be presented at a joint meeting of the IMA and the LMS on the evening of 14 March 2013 at the Royal Society, followed by lectures from Dr Neumann and Professor Iserles. The Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and the London Mathematical Society instituted the David Crighton Medal in 2002. The medal is awarded triennially with the first award in 2003. It is awarded to a mathematician who is normally resident in the mathematical community represented by the two organisations for services both to mathematics and to the mathematical community. Previous winners include John M. Ball and Christopher Zeeman.

 Click to see the Newsletter

Jean Pierre Dedieu 1949 - 2012

Jean Pierre Dedieu.jpg

Jean-Pierre Dedieu died on June 15, 2012 at the still young age of 62. He was a very active member of FoCM beginning with the Park City meeting in 1995 and was currently a member of our Board of Directors and a book review editor of our Journal. The cause of death was complications from a bone marrow transplant which he needed as a result of a long  battle with blood cancer. Jean-Pierre was in many ways a sweet and terrific person. We miss him dearly.


A conference in honor of the 60th birthday of Peter Olver

Peter Oliver

Symmetries of Differential Equations: Frames, Invariants and Applications

A conference in honor of the 60th birthday of Peter Olver
May 17-19, 2012 (Thursday-Saturday)

School of Mathematics,
University of Minnesota

Click to see conference web site



A conference celebrating the work of Mike Shub

Peter Oliver

From Dynamics to Complexity

A conference celebrating the work of Mike Shub
May 07-11, 2012
Fields Institute, Toronto

Click to see conference web site